A licensing contract filed with US securities regulators guarantees minimum royalties of $1,000,000 a year for the Kathy Hilton name, rising to $2,000,000. It is signed by Richard Hilton, President, for the licensor.
Kathy Hilton signs separately, further down, under the heading “ACKNOWLEDGED and APPROVED”.
Kathy Hilton Net Worth: Why We Publish No Figure
- The $350 million everyone cites is a couple’s figure — the source that published it says so itself
- She is not a Hilton heiress. She married into the family; the framing is wrong at the premise
- Our take: no verified figure. See our methodology.
Four things get collapsed into one number here: a foundation, a family, a marriage, and a person. They are separable, and the documents separate them.
The Numbers Exist — and They Are Not Paid to Her
We expected to find nothing documented. Instead there is an unusually detailed record, because a listed company licensed her name and had to file the contract.
| Period | Guaranteed minimum royalty |
|---|---|
| 2006–2011 (per year) | $1,000,000 |
| 2012–2016 (per year) | $1,500,000 |
| 2017–2021 (per year) | $1,750,000 |
| 2022–2026 (per year) | $2,000,000 |
Plus, in 2006, 3,000,000 shares in the licensee — 21.7 per cent of the company at the time.
Now read who receives it. The contract states that in consideration of the licence and her personal services — television shopping appearances, infomercials, personal appearances — the licensee shall pay the annual royalty “to Licensor”.
The licensor is a limited liability company whose president is her husband. He signs for it. She signs beneath, acknowledging and approving.
And the shares came with an explicit carve-out. The ownership filing states that a third party “has the sole power to vote or direct the vote, and to dispose or direct the disposition of such shares.” Not her.
A detail about how these figures became readable at all
Worth recording, because it explains why nobody quotes them. The version filed in 2006 is redacted — every royalty figure replaced by asterisks under confidential treatment.
Only the refiling in August 2009 is unredacted. Read the original document and you see no numbers at all.
Guaranteed Is Not the Same as Paid
The contract promises minimums. The accounts show what happened.
By the financial year to June 2009 the licensee had written the licence down from an original $953,502 to a remaining book value of $78,952 — and then wrote off the remainder entirely, on the basis that future cash flows would not cover it.
The same report notes a decrease in amortisation “due to a reduction in license fees paid under the Kathy Hilton agreement.”
A contractual minimum is not income received. This one was reduced, and the asset behind it was valued at zero within three years.
All Three Trademarks Are Dead
The three registrations named in that contract have all been cancelled — each because the required maintenance declaration was never filed:
| Goods | Registered | Cancelled |
|---|---|---|
| Bed linen, towels | 2004 | March 2025 |
| Furniture | 2004 | March 2025 |
| Jewellery | 2005 | June 2026 |
There was never a dispute over any of them: the trademark tribunal has no proceedings on record for the name. (We confirmed the search works by running a control that returns over a hundred results.)
A contradiction we cannot resolve
The licence agreement asserts that Richard Hilton is the worldwide owner of the mark. The trademark register lists both of them jointly as current owners, as individuals. All three files also record an ownership update in March 2009.
Which position applied when cannot be established, because the assignment register is unreachable — those servers return no DNS response at all. We state the conflict rather than choosing a side.
The $7.36 Billion That Belongs to Nobody
The Hilton fortune is real and it is measurable — because it sits in a charitable foundation that files public accounts.
| Year end | Total assets at fair value |
|---|---|
| 2019 | $4,101,713,350 |
| 2020 | $7,732,630,405 |
| 2023 | $7,099,706,570 |
| 2024 | $7,362,883,680 |
This is endowment capital. It has no private owner. Nobody can spend it, inherit it or count it as personal wealth — and that includes every member of the family.
And a negative finding we can stand behind
Those filings name every compensated officer and director individually, with amounts. We read that section in full for two years.
Neither Kathy Hilton nor her husband appears in either year.
What makes this a strong result rather than an empty search: other Hiltons do appear — a chairman at $55,000, several directors at around $45,000 each. The method finds Hiltons. These two are not among them.
She Is Not an Heiress
This sits underneath every estimate and is almost never stated. She is not a Hilton by birth — she married into the family. The securities filing describes her plainly as the wife of the founder’s grandson.
So the recurring “heiress” framing is not an exaggeration of her position. It describes a relationship she does not have.
Where the $350 Million Comes From — In Its Own Words
This is the cleanest demonstration we have found of how a figure goes wrong in transit. The source page, under a headline giving her net worth as $350 million, adds immediately:
“That is a combined net worth with her husband, Rick Hilton.”
The originator is not the problem. The relay is. Downstream sites carry the number and drop the qualifier — visible in the titles alone: “$350M Fortune”, “Inside the $350M Legacy”, “how she got to $350M”.
One goes further and manufactures a breakdown to justify the total, with no source for any line:
| “Inheritance & Marriage” | $200m+ |
| “Real Estate Holdings” | $90m |
| “Business Ventures” | $50m |
| “TV & Media Appearances” | $10m |
The largest line, “Inheritance & Marriage”, does two things at once: it asserts an inheritance for which no evidence exists, for someone outside the line of inheritance — and fuses it with marital assets so the two cannot be told apart. The $10 million for television contradicts the fact that no fee of hers has ever been disclosed.
In fairness, one outlet handles it correctly, calling it a combined figure and noting that the hotel empire generated wealth the couple will never see. Its supporting link, however, returns a 404 — so even the careful version rests on a citation that no longer exists.
And one site still listed in search results as a source for the figure now resolves to a parked domain with no content at all. The number outlived its source.
What We Will Not Publish
No property figures — not even by district. The county register serving the relevant area returned a server error, its records portal a dead link, and the only working access is fee-based single lookups with no name index at all. That is a locked door, not an empty room, so the circulating purchase and sale prices stay out.
No television fee, not even as a range. Everything in circulation traces to reports of what she was asking, sourced to unnamed insiders. There is no disclosed contract — and cast members in her category are paid per shooting day, which makes any per-season figure meaningless in principle.
A note on method, because it nearly caught us: the trademark system returned 403 errors during our checks. A control lookup on a household-name brand returned 403 as well — so those were rate limits, not missing records. With pauses between requests, every file loaded.
The Bottom Line
Documented: a licence promising $1m to $2m a year, paid to a company her husband runs; 3,000,000 shares whose voting power sat with someone else; a write-down to zero within three years; three cancelled trademarks; a foundation holding $7.36 billion that pays her nothing.
Not documented: a single dollar received by her, any television fee, any property, and any inheritance.
The most-cited figure about her is real reporting about two people, republished as one. Splitting it would require a division nobody has a basis for — and the underlying contracts point the other way.
Sources
- The unredacted licence: $1m rising to $2m a year, payable to the licensor
- The 2006 version, with every figure redacted
- Who signs: “President” for the licensor, “acknowledged and approved” beneath
- 3,000,000 shares — with sole voting power held by a third party
- The write-off to zero, and “a reduction in license fees paid”
- First trademark, cancelled 2025
- Second trademark, cancelled 2025
- Third trademark, cancelled 2026
- No trademark proceedings on record
- The foundation’s 2024 return: $7,362,883,680, and the officer list
- The same for 2023
- The foundation’s filing history
- The $350 million — described by its own source as a couple’s figure
- The invented breakdown, including “Inheritance & Marriage”
- The version that gets it right — with a broken citation
Money Timeline
| Date | Scope | Event | Reported amount | Details and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2006-10-13 | Deal | $1 million a year guaranteed - payable to her husband's company | $1,000,000 | A licence filed with securities regulators guarantees minimum royalties for her name and her personal services - shopping channel appearances, infomercials, personal appearances - rising to $1.5 million from 2012, $1.75 million from 2017 and $2 million for 2022 to 2026. But the contract says the royalty is payable to the licensor, a limited liability company whose president is her husband. He signs for it; she signs beneath, under the heading acknowledged and approved. One reason these figures are never quoted: the version filed in 2006 is redacted, every amount replaced by asterisks, and only the refiling of August 2009 is readable. Source for $1 million a year guaranteed - payable to her husband's company |
| 2006-11-22 | Deal | 3,000,000 shares - with the votes held by someone else | Not disclosed | The licensing company received 21.7 per cent of the licensee in exchange for a stake tied to the licence. The ownership filing carves out the decisive point in one sentence: a third party has the sole power to vote or direct the vote, and to dispose or direct the disposition of such shares. Not her. A shareholding without voting or disposal rights is not a straightforward asset of the person whose name is on the brand. Source for 3,000,000 shares - with the votes held by someone else |
| 2009-06-30 | Deal | The licence written down to zero in under three years | $78,952 | The licensee had already reduced the licence from an original $953,502 to this remaining book value, and then wrote it off entirely on the basis that future cash flows would not cover it. The same report records a decrease in amortisation due to a reduction in license fees paid under the agreement. A contractual minimum is not income received - this one was reduced, and the asset behind it valued at nothing. Source for The licence written down to zero in under three years |
| 2024-12-31 | Deal | $7.36 billion in a foundation - and neither of them is paid by it | $7,362,883,680 | The Hilton fortune is measurable because it sits in a charitable foundation that files public accounts: $4.10 billion at the end of 2019, $7.73 billion in 2020, and this figure in 2024. It is endowment capital with no private owner. The filings also name every compensated officer and director individually, and we read that section in full for two years - neither she nor her husband appears in either. What makes that a strong result rather than an empty search is that other family members do appear, a chairman at $55,000 and several directors at around $45,000. Source for $7.36 billion in a foundation - and neither of them is paid by it |
| 2025-03-28 | Deal | Her trademarks lapse for want of a filing | Not disclosed | All three registrations named in the licence have been cancelled because the required maintenance declaration was never filed - bed linen and furniture in March 2025, jewellery in June 2026. There was never a dispute over any of them: the trademark tribunal has no proceedings on record for the name, a result we confirmed by running a control that returns over a hundred. One conflict we could not resolve: the licence asserts her husband is the worldwide owner, while the register lists both of them jointly. The assignment records that would settle it return no DNS response at all. Source for Her trademarks lapse for want of a filing |
| 2026-08-02 | Deal | $350 million - a couple's figure, republished as one person's | $350,000,000 | The cleanest demonstration in this project of how a number goes wrong in transit. The originating page gives $350 million under her name and then states immediately: that is a combined net worth with her husband. The originator is not the problem - the relay is. Downstream sites carry the figure and drop the qualifier, visible in their titles alone. One goes further and manufactures a sourceless breakdown whose largest line, Inheritance and Marriage at over $200 million, asserts an inheritance for someone outside the line of inheritance and fuses it with marital assets so the two cannot be separated. Source for $350 million - a couple's figure, republished as one person's |
Amounts describe different financial measures; they must not be added together as personal wealth. Source dates, estimates and limitations are explained in each entry. Methodology.
Frequently Asked Questions
Short answers to the most common questions about this profile. For our sourcing and update method, see our Methodology page.
What is Kathy Hilton's net worth in 2026?
No verified figure exists for her as an individual. The $350 million cited everywhere comes from a single source which states immediately below the headline that it is a combined net worth with her husband. Downstream sites carry the number and drop that qualifier - visible in their titles alone. Splitting it would require a division nobody has a basis for, and the underlying contracts point the other way: the documented licensing income is payable to a company her husband runs, and the voting power over an associated shareholding sat with a third party.
Is Kathy Hilton a Hilton heiress?
No, and the framing is wrong at the premise rather than merely exaggerated. She is not a Hilton by birth - she married into the family, and the securities filing describes her plainly as the wife of the founder's grandson. The large Hilton fortune sits today as endowment capital in a charitable foundation, which held $7,362,883,680 in assets at fair value at the end of 2024. Endowment capital has no private owner: nobody can spend it, inherit it or count it as personal wealth.
Does Kathy Hilton receive money from the Hilton foundation?
On the audited returns, no. Those filings name every compensated officer and director individually with amounts, and we read that section in full for two years. Neither she nor her husband appears in either year. What makes this a strong result rather than an empty search is that other members of the family do appear - a chairman at $55,000 and several directors at around $45,000 each. The method finds Hiltons; these two are not among them.
Is there any documented business income in Kathy Hilton's name?
Yes, and in unusual detail, because a listed company licensed her name and had to file the contract. It guarantees minimum royalties of $1,000,000 a year from 2006, rising through $1,500,000 and $1,750,000 to $2,000,000 for 2022 to 2026, plus 3,000,000 shares representing 21.7 per cent of the licensee in 2006. But read who receives it: the contract says the royalty is payable to the licensor, which is a limited liability company whose president is her husband - he signs for it, and she signs beneath under the heading acknowledged and approved. The ownership filing further states that a third party holds sole power to vote and dispose of the shares. One detail explains why these figures are never quoted: the version filed in 2006 is redacted, with every royalty replaced by asterisks. Only the refiling of August 2009 is readable.
What happened to the Kathy Hilton brand?
It was written off and then allowed to lapse. By the financial year to June 2009 the licensee had reduced the licence from an original $953,502 to a book value of $78,952 and then wrote off the remainder entirely, noting a decrease in amortisation due to a reduction in license fees paid under the agreement. A contractual minimum is not income received. All three trademarks named in that contract have since been cancelled for failure to file the required maintenance declaration - two in March 2025 and one in June 2026. There was never a dispute over any of them; the trademark tribunal has no proceedings on record for the name.
More hollywood profiles like this
Explore related hollywood profiles and their source notes.





