Net worth & personal profile
Clarence ThomasNet Worth
The $4M estimate tested against his newest federal disclosure: 2026 salary, investment ranges, Ginni Thomas’s business, book money and the Harlan Crow controversy.
Clarence Thomas’s exact net worth is not public. Forbes estimated about $4 million in 2024, while Celebrity Net Worth still publishes $1 million with an obsolete salary. His 2025 federal disclosure lists roughly $1.95 million to $7.07 million in reportable year-end holdings by range, but omits assets exempt from reporting and does not turn “no reportable liabilities” into proof of zero debt.

Source · Public domain (U.S. federal government work) · Displayed crop
The essentials
Forbes estimated about $4 million in January 2024, including an estimated pension value. Celebrity Net Worth publishes $1 million but still lists a $220,000 salary; the official 2026 salary is $306,600. [4]
Adding only the active gross-value ranges printed on the 2025 disclosure produces approximately $1.95 million to $7.07 million in reportable holdings. That is a household disclosure range—not net worth. [3]
The 2025 form reports $18,000 of Thomas’s teaching income, $0 of spouse salary and benefits from Liberty Consulting, no reportable gifts, no reportable liabilities and one Hoover Institution travel reimbursement. [3]
Career · Personal profile · Latest filing · Gifts & disclosure · Now
Clarence Thomas is one of the unusual public figures whose finances are disclosed every year but still cannot be reduced to one exact number. Federal forms report many assets in wide bands, include a spouse’s reportable interests, omit a personal residence in many circumstances and do not capitalize the value of a lifetime salary or pension.
The previous article’s $3 million editorial estimate and fabricated income split have been removed. This version starts with the financial disclosure Thomas electronically signed in May 2026, then uses outside estimates only as comparisons. Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure · Net Worth VIP — methodology
01 / Career
From Pin Point to a 52–48 confirmation
Thomas was born in the Pin Point community near Savannah, Georgia. The Court’s biography records an A.B. from Holy Cross in 1971 and a J.D. from Yale in 1974, followed by jobs in Missouri government, Monsanto, the U.S. Senate, the Education Department and the EEOC. Supreme Court — current members
After a year on the D.C. Circuit, President George H. W. Bush nominated him to succeed Thurgood Marshall. The Senate’s official roll call records a 52–48 confirmation on October 15, 1991; Thomas took his seat eight days later. U.S. Senate — 1991 confirmation vote · Supreme Court — current members
The reopened hearings followed Anita Hill’s allegations of sexual harassment, which Thomas denied. Senate history describes the nationally televised process and its lasting effect on confirmation politics. The profile records allegation, denial and outcome without converting political controversy into a financial claim. U.S. Senate — nominations historical overview
02 / Personal profile
Ginni Thomas, one son and a separate political career
Thomas married Virginia “Ginni” Lamp on May 30, 1987. The Court’s official biography says he has one child, Jamal Adeen, from a previous marriage. That establishes the household facts without assigning adult relatives’ assets to him. Supreme Court — current members
Ginni Thomas is a conservative political activist and operates Liberty Consulting. The 2025 disclosure reports $0 in salary and benefits from the firm for that calendar year and lists the company itself at a book-value range of $15,001 to $50,000. Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure
Zero reported salary from one company in one year does not mean the company has no value, nor does its book value establish a sale price. The couple’s reportable interests belong in the disclosure analysis, but no invented “consulting income” should be added to Clarence Thomas’s wealth.
03 / Latest filing
What the 2025 disclosure actually shows
The May 2026 filing reports $18,000 in teaching income from Catholic University’s Columbus School of Law. It lists no reportable gifts and no reportable liabilities, plus one reimbursement from the Hoover Institution for transportation, meals and lodging connected with an October 2025 speech. Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure · Associated Press — 2025 justice disclosures
The largest disclosed holding is Ginger Holdings, LLC: an estimated gross-value range of $1,000,001 to $5,000,000. Adding every active year-end band produces roughly $1.95 million to $7.07 million in reportable holdings. The form can exclude a personal residence, uses broad brackets, includes spousal interests and only asks for reportable liabilities, so this is not a net-worth range. Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure
Forbes estimated about $4 million in 2024, including a modeled pension value. Celebrity Net Worth publishes $1 million but still lists a stale $220,000 salary; the official 2026 figure is $306,600. The newer filing cannot settle the total either, so the profile publishes no house estimate. Forbes — Clarence Thomas net worth · Celebrity Net Worth — Clarence Thomas · U.S. Courts — judicial compensation
The evidence, with its limits
| Source / measure | Public figure | What it establishes |
|---|---|---|
| Forbes — Clarence Thomas net worth | ~$4M estimate | January 2024 model that includes an estimated lifetime-pension value. |
| Celebrity Net Worth — Clarence Thomas | $1M estimate | $220K salary on the same page is obsolete; not a current disclosure reading. |
| Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure | ~$1.95M–$7.07M | Calculated sum of active year-end reportable holding ranges; not net worth. |
| U.S. Courts — judicial compensation | $306,600 | Official 2026 Associate Justice salary. |
| Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure | $18,000 | Teaching income reported for calendar 2025. |
| Associated Press — My Grandfather’s Son advance | $1.5M | Reported advance for the 2007 memoir My Grandfather’s Son. |
| ProPublica — Crow real-estate transaction | $133,363 total sale | 2014 price paid to three co-owners; not Thomas’s personal proceeds. |
04 / Gifts and disclosure
The luxury-travel story is material—but not a balance sheet
ProPublica documented years of private-jet flights, yacht travel and resort stays supplied by billionaire Harlan Crow, as well as tuition assistance and the purchase of Savannah property co-owned by Thomas’s family. Thomas said he had been advised that personal hospitality from close friends did not need to be reported. ProPublica — luxury travel investigation · ProPublica — Crow real-estate transaction
In 2024, Thomas amended his 2019 disclosure to acknowledge two Crow-paid trips. In January 2025, the Judicial Conference declined to refer the broader disclosure allegations to the Justice Department, citing amended filings and uncertainty about its authority over Supreme Court justices. That decision was not a dollar valuation or a finding that every historical item had been disclosed correctly. Associated Press — amended 2019 travel disclosure · Associated Press — Judicial Conference decision
The current financial question needs two boundaries. Free travel is not cash saved dollar-for-dollar at charter-market prices, and an undisclosed transaction is not automatically part of present wealth. The disclosures and investigations matter because they reveal financial relationships, not because they supply a number to paste into net worth.
05 / Now
A $306,600 salary and a historic tenure in 2026
Thomas remains an Associate Justice in September 2026. The official salary for the year is $306,600. His Court service is the stable public income stream; the newest filing adds only the separately reported $18,000 teaching amount for 2025. U.S. Courts — judicial compensation · Supreme Court — current members
In May 2026, he became the second-longest-serving justice in U.S. history, behind William O. Douglas. The Associated Press reported no sign that he planned to retire; if he remains through 2028, he would pass Douglas. Associated Press — second-longest-serving justice
The Supreme Court adopted its first formal Code of Conduct in November 2023. It provides current ethical context, while annual disclosure forms remain the strongest recurring financial source. Supreme Court — Code of Conduct for Justices
Financial record
The money timeline
Associate Justice salary reaches $306,600Salary$306,600Details & source
Amount and context
$306,600 · USD
The official federal judiciary table supplies the annual statutory salary.
Open source for Associate Justice salary reaches $306,600 ↗Teaching income is disclosedTeaching$18,000Details & source
Amount and context
$18,000 · USD
The 2025 annual filing reports $18,000 from Catholic University’s Columbus School of Law.
Open source for Teaching income is disclosed ↗Crow company buys Savannah propertiesProperty$133,363Details & source
Amount and context
$133,363 · USD
The $133,363 total price went to three co-owners; it is not Thomas’s personal proceeds.
Open source for Crow company buys Savannah properties ↗My Grandfather’s Son is publishedPublishing$1.5MDetails & source
Amount and context
$1,500,000 · USD
Associated Press reports a $1.5 million advance for the memoir.
Open source for My Grandfather’s Son is published ↗Thomas takes his Supreme Court seatCareerNot disclosedDetails & source
Amount and context
Not disclosed · USD
The Court records his service beginning eight days after a 52–48 Senate confirmation.
Open source for Thomas takes his Supreme Court seat ↗Amounts describe different financial measures and retain their original currencies. They must not be added together as personal wealth. Our methodology.
Common questions
Questions, answered
What is Clarence Thomas’s net worth in 2026?
His exact net worth is not public. Forbes estimated about $4 million in 2024. His 2025 disclosure lists approximately $1.95 million to $7.07 million in active reportable holdings by range, but that is not a complete net-worth statement.
What is Clarence Thomas’s salary in 2026?
The U.S. Courts’ official compensation table sets the 2026 salary of an Associate Justice at $306,600, up from $303,600 in 2025.
What did Clarence Thomas disclose for 2025?
He reported $18,000 in teaching income, one Hoover Institution travel reimbursement, no reportable gifts, no reportable liabilities, $0 of spouse salary and benefits from Liberty Consulting, and multiple investments reported in value ranges.
Do Harlan Crow’s gifts count as Clarence Thomas’s net worth?
No. Travel, hospitality, tuition assistance and a co-owned real-estate transaction require disclosure and ethics analysis, but they are not a verified present cash balance and cannot simply be added to net worth.
Who is Clarence Thomas married to, and does he have children?
He has been married to Virginia “Ginni” Thomas since May 30, 1987. The Supreme Court biography says he has one son, Jamal Adeen Thomas, from a previous marriage.
Follow the evidenceSources & reading18 links
- Forbes — Clarence Thomas net worth ↗
Publishes a roughly $4 million estimate that includes an estimated value for his lifetime judicial pension.
- Celebrity Net Worth — Clarence Thomas ↗
Publishes $1 million and an obsolete $220,000 salary, despite the current official salary being much higher.
- Clarence Thomas — 2025 financial disclosure ↗
AO Form 10 filed May 14, 2026: outside income, spouse income, reimbursement, gifts, liabilities, holdings and transactions for calendar 2025.
- U.S. Courts — judicial compensation ↗
Official table sets 2026 Associate Justice salary at $306,600 and 2025 salary at $303,600.
- Supreme Court — current members ↗
Official biography supplies birth, education, career, spouse, child and October 23, 1991 seat date.
- Associated Press — second-longest-serving justice ↗
May 2026 report says Thomas became the second-longest-serving justice in U.S. history and showed no sign of retiring.
- Associated Press — 2025 justice disclosures ↗
Reports the justices’ latest disclosure release and Thomas’s $18,000 teaching income.
- ProPublica — Supreme Connections: Clarence Thomas ↗
Searchable extraction of decades of disclosure filings; the 2024 holdings were summarized at $2 million to $7.3 million.
- ProPublica — luxury travel investigation ↗
Documents private-jet, yacht and resort travel provided by Harlan Crow and explains the disclosure dispute.
- ProPublica — Crow real-estate transaction ↗
Reports the $133,363 purchase of three co-owned Savannah properties by a Crow company and the original omission from the 2014 disclosure.
- Associated Press — Judicial Conference decision ↗
Reports that the Judicial Conference declined in January 2025 to refer the disclosure allegations to the Justice Department.
- Associated Press — amended 2019 travel disclosure ↗
Reports Thomas’s 2024 amendment acknowledging two 2019 trips paid by Crow and the status of gift reporting.
- Associated Press — My Grandfather’s Son advance ↗
Reports the $1.5 million advance for Thomas’s 2007 memoir.
- U.S. Senate — 1991 confirmation vote ↗
Official roll call records confirmation by 52–48 on October 15, 1991.
- U.S. Senate — nominations historical overview ↗
Official history describes Anita Hill’s allegations, the reopened televised hearings and the bitter confirmation process.
- Supreme Court — Code of Conduct for Justices ↗
The Court’s first formal Code of Conduct, issued in November 2023.
- Wikimedia Commons — official Clarence Thomas portrait ↗
Steve Petteway official Supreme Court portrait from September 24, 2007; U.S. federal government public domain.
- Net Worth VIP — methodology ↗
Explains why range disclosures, pensions, gifts, salaries and gross asset values require different treatment.






