Net worth & personal profile

Janet YellenNet Worth

A certified 2025 filing, a $9.45M disclosed-asset floor, $7.14M in itemized speaking fees and outside estimates that disagree with themselves.

Current net worth
Not independently established

Janet Yellen's current net worth cannot be reduced to one verified figure. Her certified 2025 termination disclosure lists 19 range-valued household holdings whose lower bounds total $9,445,019, plus pensions with no stated capital value and three funds reported only as over $1 million. It lists no reportable liabilities, but the form excludes or omits some items, including a primary residence in ordinary circumstances. Outside estimates of $16 million and $20 million are plausible scenarios, not audited totals.

janet yellen — editorial portrait
Janet Yellen · Photo: U.S. Department of the Treasury via Wikimedia Commons
Source · Public domain (U.S. federal government work) · Displayed crop

The essentials

01

The certified 2025 termination report contains 19 range-valued household holdings with combined lower bounds of $9,445,019; three “over $1 million” entries make a finite upper bound impossible. [1]

02

The same filing reports no liabilities in its reportable category, while its instructions exclude some obligations and ordinarily exclude a personal residence from the asset schedule. [1]

03

Yellen’s amended nominee disclosure itemizes 55 speaking-fee entries totaling $7,135,200, before tax, representation, travel or other costs. [2]

Headline estimates · 2025 filing · Speaking fees · Evidence · Pay & pensions · Current work

Janet Yellen is unusually well documented for a public figure. Her final Treasury ethics filing lists household funds, retirement accounts, distributions, royalties and reportable liabilities. It is strong evidence, but it is still a disclosure form built around conflict-of-interest rules rather than a complete personal balance sheet.

This profile therefore reports what the documents can prove: a disclosed-asset floor, range limits, itemized speaking receipts, salary schedules and pension payments. It does not turn a range into an exact fortune or treat household assets as Yellen-only property. Net Worth VIP — methodology

01 / The headline estimates

The public numbers disagree before any calculation begins

Celebrity Net Worth currently displays $16 million in its headline and fact box, then calls Yellen’s net worth $20 million in the first paragraph. Forbes used $20 million for 2021. None is a current audited personal balance sheet.

The strongest current document is Yellen’s certified termination disclosure, signed in January 2025. Its asset ranges can test whether an outside estimate is possible, but not prove a single value: three holdings say only “over $1 million,” defined-benefit pensions have no capital value, and a primary residence is ordinarily omitted.

The defensible answer is therefore a floor and a set of limitations. The $25 million previously published on this site had no reproducible bridge and has been removed.

02 / The 2025 termination filing

Nineteen disclosed holdings establish a $9.45M floor, not a finished net-worth total

Adding the lower endpoint of every range-valued holding in Parts 2, 5 and 6 produces $9,445,019. The calculation covers Yellen’s and spouse George Akerlof’s disclosed retirement funds, family and revocable trusts, a bank account, diversified funds and a stamp collection.

That lower bound is deliberately conservative. Three Akerlof-trust funds are reported only as over $1 million, while several other holdings range as high as $5 million. Yellen’s University of California defined-benefit pension and two spouse pension plans are marked not readily ascertainable and therefore add no capital value to the sum.

Part 8 says “None” for liabilities. That means no liabilities reportable under the form’s rules; it is not a universal debt certificate. The instructions exclude categories such as certain residence mortgages, vehicle loans and revolving balances under specified conditions.

03 / Private income between public roles

The speaking-fee record is exact enough to audit line by line

The amended 2021 nominee report lists 55 speaking-fee entries from 2019 and 2020. Their stated amounts total $7,135,200. Clients include Citi, Citadel, Goldman Sachs, Barclays, UBS, Credit Suisse, Google, Salesforce and many professional groups.

The same income section separately reports $125,000 of Magellan consulting fees, a $50,000 Truman Prize and a $5,000 Vanderbilt honorarium. Those items should not be silently relabeled as speaking fees, and none of the gross receipts equals retained wealth after tax, representation, travel, spending or investment results.

The filing is valuable because it replaces vague claims with dates and payers. It still describes historic income, not the balance of a bank account in 2026.

The evidence, with its limits

EvidencePublic figureWhat it establishes
2025 disclosure: 19 range-valued holdings$9,445,019 minimumHousehold asset floor from lower range endpoints; not an exact or Yellen-only total.
Three Akerlof-trust fundsOver $1M eachNo finite upper endpoint, so a complete range cannot be calculated.
Reportable liabilitiesNone listedNo liabilities reportable under the form; excluded debts may still exist.
Yellen UC pension$8,720 monthlyRetirement income at filing; the plan’s capital value is not readily ascertainable.
2021 nominee filing$7,135,200 speaking feesSum of 55 disclosed 2019–2020 speaking-fee entries; gross historic income.
Other disclosed pre-Treasury receipts$180,000Consulting, prize and honorarium items kept separate from speeches.
2021 Level I schedule$221,400 official / $203,500 frozen payableGovernment pay schedule, not a personal net-worth figure.
Outside estimate$16M or $20M on one pageThird-party numbers that are internally inconsistent and unaudited.
Sources checked September 22, 2026 UTC. Household disclosure ranges, income, pensions, salary schedules and personal net worth are kept distinct.

04 / Salary and retirement income

Government pay is public, but the schedule is easier to quote than the actual wealth effect

Federal law places the Treasury Secretary at Executive Schedule Level I. OPM’s 2021 table lists an official Level I rate of $221,400 and a $203,500 payable rate for freeze-covered senior political officials. The distinction matters when reconstructing compensation.

The 2024 table lists $246,400 for Level I while again warning about the political-appointee pay freeze. A schedule rate is not a W-2, and gross salary over four years cannot be added to speaking fees and called net worth without tax, benefits, expenses and savings data.

The termination report is more direct about retirement cash flow: Yellen reports $8,720 in monthly University of California pension payments, equivalent to $104,640 over twelve months if unchanged. It also records IRA and Harvard-plan distributions; those distributions are movements from already owned retirement assets, not new asset values to add twice.

05 / Life after Treasury

Brookings is current; a resumed multimillion-dollar speaking circuit is not documented

Yellen left Treasury on January 20, 2025. Brookings currently names her a distinguished fellow in residence in Economic Studies and the Hutchins Center, returning to a role she held before joining the Biden administration.

That public affiliation does not disclose her compensation. The old article’s invented $2 million of post-Treasury income, consulting work for the IMF and World Bank, stock options from the Federal Reserve and a portfolio of California properties have been removed because the cited records do not establish them.

Her family record is straightforward: she married economist and Nobel laureate George Akerlof in 1978, and they have one son, economist Robert Akerlof. Household disclosures include George’s assets and income, which is why they cannot be presented as Janet Yellen’s individual property.

Financial record

The money timeline

5 reported events
5 events
Final Treasury disclosure establishes an asset floorDisclosure$9.45MDetails & source

Amount and context

$9,445,019 · USD

The filing also lists no reportable liabilities and leaves several pensions without capital values.

Open source for Final Treasury disclosure establishes an asset floor ↗
2024 Executive Schedule is publishedSalary$246,400Details & source

Amount and context

$246,400 · USD

The table rate is public, but it is not an audited statement of Yellen’s actual annual take-home pay.

Open source for 2024 Executive Schedule is published ↗
Yellen becomes Treasury SecretarySalary$203,500Details & source

Amount and context

$203,500 · USD

The official EX-I table was $221,400, while OPM listed $203,500 for covered senior political officials.

Open source for Yellen becomes Treasury Secretary ↗
Itemized speaking-fee period closesIncome$7.14MDetails & source

Amount and context

$7,135,200 · USD

The amended nominee report lists 55 individual speaking-fee entries totaling $7,135,200.

Open source for Itemized speaking-fee period closes ↗
Yellen becomes Federal Reserve ChairCareerNot disclosedDetails & source

Amount and context

Not disclosed · USD

She became the first woman to lead the Federal Reserve Board.

Open source for Yellen becomes Federal Reserve Chair ↗

Amounts describe different financial measures and retain their original currencies. They must not be added together as personal wealth. Our methodology.

Common questions

Questions, answered

What is Janet Yellen's net worth in 2026?

No exact current total is independently established. Her certified January 2025 disclosure supports a $9,445,019 minimum across 19 range-valued household holdings, while outside estimates of $16 million and $20 million remain unaudited.

How much did Janet Yellen disclose in assets?

The lower endpoints of 19 value-ranged holdings total $9,445,019. The true disclosed total is higher because three funds are reported only as over $1 million, and defined-benefit pensions have no stated capital value.

How much did Janet Yellen earn from speaking fees?

Her amended 2021 nominee disclosure itemizes 55 speaking-fee entries totaling $7,135,200 for 2019 and 2020. This is gross historic income before tax and costs, not current net worth.

What was Janet Yellen paid as Treasury Secretary?

The job is Executive Schedule Level I. OPM listed a $221,400 official 2021 rate and a $203,500 frozen payable rate for covered senior political officials; its 2024 Level I table listed $246,400 with another pay-freeze warning.

Is Janet Yellen married and what does she do now?

She has been married to economist George Akerlof since 1978; they have one son, Robert. Brookings currently lists her as a distinguished fellow in residence in Economic Studies and the Hutchins Center.

Follow the evidenceSources & reading15 links
  1. U.S. Office of Government Ethics — Janet Yellen 2025 termination report ↗

    Certified termination disclosure signed January 5, 2025 and covering household assets, retirement income, transactions and reportable liabilities.

  2. U.S. Office of Government Ethics — Janet Yellen 2021 nominee report ↗

    The amended nominee report itemizes 55 speaking-fee entries totaling $7,135,200, plus consulting, prize and honorarium income.

  3. U.S. Office of Government Ethics — Janet Yellen 2022 annual report ↗

    Annual filing showing retirement accounts, distributions, consulting and book-royalty categories during government service.

  4. Brookings Institution — Janet L. Yellen ↗

    Current profile naming Yellen a distinguished fellow in residence and summarizing her public-service and academic career.

  5. U.S. Treasury — Janet Yellen (2021–2025) ↗

    Official biography confirming Bay Ridge, education, marriage to George Akerlof, son Robert and her three historic economic-policy leadership roles.

  6. Federal Reserve — Board members, 1914–present ↗

    Official term record for Yellen as vice chair from 2010 to 2014 and chair from February 2014 to February 2018.

  7. U.S. Code — 5 U.S.C. §5312 ↗

    Places the Secretary of the Treasury at Level I of the Executive Schedule.

  8. U.S. Office of Personnel Management — 2021 Executive Schedule ↗

    Lists the 2021 Level I rate at $221,400 and the freeze-covered payable rate at $203,500.

  9. U.S. Office of Personnel Management — 2024 Executive Schedule ↗

    Lists the 2024 Level I rate at $246,400 and warns that a senior-political-official pay freeze remained relevant.

  10. U.S. Treasury — remarks recognizing Janet Yellen’s public service ↗

    January 2025 remarks confirming the end of her Treasury tenure and naming husband George and son Robby as her family support system.

  11. Forbes — how federal officials build wealth ↗

    Forbes repeats its $20 million 2021 estimate and attributes more than $7 million of wealth-building income to speeches.

  12. Celebrity Net Worth — Janet Yellen ↗

    The live page is internally inconsistent: its headline and fact box show $16 million while the opening prose says $20 million.

  13. UC Berkeley — economics is all in the family ↗

    University profile of Yellen, George Akerlof and their only son Robert, including their shared academic work.

  14. Wikimedia Commons — official Janet Yellen portrait ↗

    Official 2021 U.S. Treasury portrait, public domain as a federal-government work.

  15. Net Worth VIP — methodology ↗

    Why disclosure ranges, household assets, pension income, speaking fees, salary tables and personal net worth remain separate measures.

Scroll to Top